The CIS (Commonwealth of Independent States) was established on 8 December 1991 by signing the Belavezha Accords. The main reason for the formation of the CIS was the Soviet Union collapse on 25 December 1991. This important historic event prompted the heads of the RSFSR, Belarus, and Ukraine to establish the CIS. The organization was supposed to help the former members of the USSR to further cooperate and to regulate their interstate relations. In this article we will review some oа the CIS countries in the context of gambling development. In particular, we will analyse gambling business in Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, etc.

Article summary

  1. Gambling legislation in CIS countries: what is common?
  2. Russia
  3. Ukraine
  4. Belarus
  5. Georgia
  6. Kazakhstan
  7. Perspectives

In 2019, there are 9 CIS member states:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Moldova
  • Russia
  • Tajikistan
  • Uzbekistan.

Ukraine and Turkmenistan are not official members of the Commonwealth since representatives of both countries have not signed the Charter of the Commonwealth on 22 January 1993. Thus, they are considered as co-founding and member states. Since 26 August 2005, Turkmenistan has been the CIS associate member.

On 18 August 2009, Georgia officially ended its membership of the CIS.

Although de jure Ukraine and Georgia are no longer members of the Commonwealth, some people still associate them with the CIS. So, we will also consider these countries in this material for your convenience.

To read the full version of the article, please fill the form below